News Search

Safety Professionals of the Year

  • Published
  • By Senior Master Sgt. Ray Lloyd
  • 107th Airlift Wing
Members of the Logistics Readiness Squadron (LRS) were recognized as the 107 AW Safety Professional(s) of the year for 2012 at the January meeting of the Commander's Quarterly Safety Sub Group. This award is given annually to the unit member or members who demonstrated a commitment to the safety ethos, risk management, and mishap prevention. The Logistics Readiness Squadron (LRS) Commander LT. Col. Kenneth J Anderson, Deployment and Distribution Flight, OIC Capt. Kiley Hand, Operations and Compliance Superintendent Senior Master Sgt. Matthew R. Rose, Asset Management Supervisor Senior Master Sgt. Ralph Burrows, Unit Safety Representative Tech. Sgt. Joanna M Blackburn, assistant Unit Safety Representative Senior Airman Andrew Thompson, and Building Manager Master Sgt. Melissa N. Shenefiel work together as a team to support and comply with the 107 Airlift Wing Mishap Prevention Program.

The combined effort of this group helped to make their building a safe and healthful environment. Their attention to detail was demonstrated during a recent renovation which included the loss of the building's fire alarm system and a significant water damage event. Using daily construction related hazard assessments and appropriate risk management measures, their efforts allowed the LRS to occupy their facility and still remain insulated from all construction related hazards resulting in zero mishaps. Their commitment to the safety ethos, risk management, and mishap prevention are exemplary. Col. John Higgins, Wing Commander gave a letter of appreciation and unit coin to the Airmen for a job well done.

"Safety is about preserving combat capabilities. If we don't think in those terms every day -- on and off duty -- we're not doing our job." Air Force Chief of Safety, Maj. Gen. Margaret H. Woodward